MINUTES OF THE MEETING GRADUATE ACADEMIC POLICIES AND PROCEDURES COMMITTEE September 19, 2022

The Graduate AP&P Committee met on Monday, September 19, 2022 at 3:00 p.m.

Voting and administrative members present: Melissa Auten, Eric Berry, Gary Boye, Mark Bradbury, Matt Estep, Beth Frye, Ross Gosky, Holly Hirst, Jeffry Hirst, Marie Hoepfl, Jennifer Howard, Scot Justice, Gary McCullough, Jason Miller, Alan Needle, Adryona Nelson, Dontrell Parson, Gail Rebeta, Mac Schauman, Susan Staub, Jerianne Taylor, Andrew Windham, Jamie Yarbrough

Voting and administrative members absent: LeeAnn Barnes, James Douthit, Karen Fletcher, Lakshmi Iyer (excused), Cathy McKinney, Brian Whitaker

Guests:

1. CALL TO ORDER

Dr. Marie Hoepfl, Interim Dean, called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m.

2. INTRODUCTION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS, ADMINISTRATIVE MEMBERS, AND GUESTS

Members introduced themselves. Hoepfl introduced Melissa Auten, the new Assistant Director of Graduate Student Life within the Graduate School. Melissa will provide support to the GAPP Committee.

3. OVERVIEW OF STRUCTURE AND ROLE OF GAPP

Hoepfl described the role of GAPP as a representative body described within the Faculty Handbook and with members voted upon as part of the Faculty Senate elections. Members serve three-year terms, except for the Graduate Student Government Association representative (usually the GSGA president), who is a voting member. The committee meets monthly and it is important to have a quorum for full representation from the colleges. GAPP also uses a subcommittee structure, with seven members each on the Curriculum and the Policy subcommittees.

4. ELECTION OF 2022-2023 COMMITTEE CHAIRPERSON AND DEPUTY CHAIRPERSON

Hoepfl called for nominations for the roles of Chair and Deputy Chair of GAPP. Susan Staub nominated Holly Hirst for chairperson. Scot Justice self-nominated for deputy chairperson. By voice vote, Hirst was approved unanimously as chair, and Scot Justice was

approved unanimously as deputy chair of the GAPP Committee.

Hoepfl turned the meeting over to chairperson Hirst.

5. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE APRIL 18, 2022 GRADUATE AP&P MEETING

Hirst called for a motion to accept the minutes from the April 18, 2022 GAPP meeting. Jamie Yarbrough moved, Beth Frye seconded, to approve the minutes. Hirst asked if corrections or additions are needed. Boye noted that his name was misspelled in the attendance list. With that correction noted, Hirst called for a vote. There were 9 votes in favor and 3 abstentions. **Motion 1 carried.**

6. ANNOUNCEMENTS/FIOS

Hirst gave a short overview of the use of information-only (FIO) items in GAPP meetings, and of the standardized exam waiver approval process. FIO distribution assures that the changes are included in the next Graduate Bulletin. Hoepfl clarified that the following waiver plans were approved during Summer 2022 and that these are reflected in the 2022-2023 Bulletin. Exam waivers presented included the following:

- a. Climate Change Certificate
- b. MA English
- c. MA Experimental Psychology
- d. MA Geography
- e. GIS Certificate
- f. MMT-CMHC Dual Degree
- g. MMT Music Therapy
- h. Planning Certificate
- i. Rhetoric & Composition Certificate

7. NEW BUSINESS

A. Curriculum Proposals

There were no curriculum proposals

B. Policy Proposals

G_GRAD_2022_1

Change the "Application Procedures" section of the Graduate Bulletin to update the language relating to letters of reference needed for doctoral programs.). **Motion from the floor required.**

Staub moved, Boye seconded, to approve. There was brief discussion about the genesis of this proposal and about policy proposals in general. Hirst called for a vote. By voice vote, the proposal was approved unanimously. **Motion 2 carried**.

C. Subcommittee membership assignments

Hirst gave a brief overview of the GAPP subcommittees. Hoepfl noted that there will ideally be representation from all colleges on each committee, except for those units (Library and FAA) that only have one member. Subcommittee assignments are as follows:

Curriculum Subcommittee: Boye, Estep, Hirst, Justice, McKinney, Needle, Taylor. Scot Justice will chair this subcommittee. Gosky will serve as Graduate School liaison and Melissa Auten will provide support.

Policy Subcommittee: Frye, Howard, Schauman, Staub, Whitaker, Windham, Yarbrough. Windham will chair this subcommittee. Hoepfl will serve as Graduate School liaison.

8. OLD BUSINESS

There was no old business.

9. DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Updates from the Graduate School

Susan Staub asked about the changes being voted on to the Faculty Constitution and how these changes might affect graduate faculty and eligibility to vote. Hirst suggested that faculty members should review the changes carefully before submitting their votes.

Hoepfl gave several updates. She reported on the status of staff searches in the Graduate School; an announcement about the Director of Graduate Student Life position is expected soon. On September 30, University Admissions is hosting a Graduate Enrollment Summit. All program directors, their department chairs, and associate deans have been invited to attend. This year's Three-Minute Thesis event will take place on Friday, October 28. Program director monthly meetings have been scheduled through the Fall semester.

Gosky gave an update on GSGA and the research and travel awards.

10. ADJOURNMENT/MOVE TO SUBCOMMITTEE BREAKOUT MEETINGS (appoint chairpersons)

Needle moved, Howard seconded, to adjourn. Meeting adjourned at 3:50 p.m. and members met with their subcommittees.