Graduate Academic Policies and Procedures Meeting Agenda

September 18, 2023 3:00 - 5:00 PM Meeting Location: 224 IG Greer

Voting Members Present: Gary Boye, Kristl Davison, Matt Estep, Beth Frye, Tammy Haley, Holly Hirst, Jennifer Howard, Scot Justice, Alan Needle, Melody Schwantes, Susan Staub, Andrew Windham, and Jamie Yarbrough.

Administrative Members Present: Melissa Auten, Ross Gosky, Mark Bradbury, Ashley Colquitt, Stefanie Heinrich, Victoria Carlberg, Jason Xiong, Jeffry Hirst, Dontrell Parson, and Eric Berry.

Voting and administrative members absent: Alby Clendennin

Guests:

1. Call to order – Dr. Ashley Colquitt, Associate Vice Provost & Dean of the School of Graduate Studies

Call to order by Dr. Ashley Colquitt at 3:03pm

2. Introduction of committee members, administrative members, and guests

Members introduced themselves including name and department.

- 3. Overview of structure and role of GAPP
 - A. Subcommittee structure
 - B. Members' roles and responsibilities

The structure, roles, and responsibilities are outlined by Dr. Ross Gosky.

 Election of 2023-2024 committee chairperson and deputy chairperson. Holly Hirst nominated to be chairperson of GAPP for the 2023/2024 year. Holly Hirst accepted nomination. Unanimous approval for Holly Hirst as Chairperson. Motion 1 approved.

Scot Justice nominated to be the Deputy Chairperson for GAPP for the 2023/2024 year. Scot Justice accepts the nomination. Unanimous approval for Scot Justice as Deputy Chairperson. **Motion 2 approved.**

Dr. Gosky turns the meeting over to Chairperson Holly Hirst.

- 5. Approval of the Minutes of the April 17, 2023 Graduate AP&P Meeting
 - A. Motion to approve minutes of the April 17th, 2023 by Matt Estep, second by Jamie Yarbourgh. Minutes of the April 17th, 2023 GAPP meeting approved by majority vote, one abstention. Motion 3 approved.
- 6. Announcements/FIOs

The following items are reviewed as "For Information Only" to communicate

- A. Standardized exam waivers
 - i. MS Accounting
 - ii. MA Appalachian Studies
 - iii. MS Applied Data Analytics
 - iv. MS Biology
 - v. MBA Business Administration
 - vi. EdS Educational Administration
 - vii. EdD Educational Leadership
 - viii. MS Engineering Physics
 - ix. MS Exercise Science
 - x. MA Literacy Education
 - xi. MA Mathematics
 - xii. MA Media, Technology, & Learning Design
 - xiii. MM Music Performance
 - xiv. MS Nutrition
 - xv. MPA Public Administration
 - xvi. MA Romance Languages French College Teaching Concentration
 - xvii. MA Special Education
 - xviii. MS Technology
- 7. New Business
 - A. Subcommittee membership assignments

Curriculum Scot Justice, Gary Boye, Alan Needle, Melody Schwantes, Holly Hirst, and Tammy Haley. Curriculum subcommittee nominates Scot Justice as chairperson. Scot Justice agrees to nomination. Unanimous approval for Scot Justice as Curriculum Subcommittee Chairperson.

Policy Alby Clendennin, Susan Staub, Andrew Windham, Beth Frye, Jamie Yarbrough, Jennifer Howard, Kristl Davison. Policy subcommittee nominated Jennifer Howard to be chairperson. Jennifer Howard accepted nomination. Unanimous approval for Jennifer Howard as the Policy Subcommittee Chairperson.

8. Old Business

9. Discussion Items

- A. Updates from the Graduate School Ashley Colquitt & Ross Gosky
 - i. Graduate Student Life program updates- Weekly Wellness Walks, Thesis Workshop, and social mixers.
 - ii. October 6th Graduate Enrollment Summit.
 - iii. Program Directors meeting Friday September 22nd 2:00-4:00pm.
 - iv. First Graduate Student Government meeting Monday September 18, 2023.
 - v. 3MT competition on November 3rd, 2023.
- 10. Adjournment/Move to subcommittee breakout meetings (appoint subcommittee chairpersons). Motion to adjourn with subcommittees meeting after adjournment. Motion by Jennifer Howard. Second by Susan Staub. Meeting adjourned at 3:39pm.