MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE GRADUATE ACADEMIC POLICIES AND PROCEDURES COMMITTEE April 20, 2020

The Graduate AP&P Committee met on Monday, April 20, 2020 at 3:00 p.m. via Zoom.

Members present: Susan Staub, Laura Padgett, Victor Mansure, Ray Williams, Marie Hoepfl, Ben Powell, Mike McKenzie, Gary McCullough, Sandi Lane, Jonathon Stickford, Jennifer McGee, Tracy Smith, Will Canu, Terry McClannon, Eric Berry, Brad Nash, David Shows, Tanga Mohr

Absent: David Shows, Sandra Vannoy, Janice Pope, James Douthit, Dontrell Parson, Karen Fletcher, Dale Wheeler (Faculty Senate), Dalton Sizemore, Agnes Gambill

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chairperson Susan Staub called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

2. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

MOTION 1: A motion was made (Nash) and seconded (Mansure) to approve the minutes of the April 2, 2020 GAPP meeting. A vote was taken. **Motion passed.**

3. ANNOUNCEMENTS/FIOS

A. Associate Dean Hoepfl explained the GRE waiver updates (presented as FIO items) and stated these will go into the 2020-2021 Bulletin.

4. NEW BUSINESS:

A. Joint Subcommittee: AP&P Manual Updates

Changes to Programs of Study

The joint subcommittee drafted language in the AP&P Manual outlining the process for proposing changes to programs of study (page 9 of the DRAFT Manual for 2020-2021).

Chairperson Staub explained that these are updates from a meeting of the Joint Subcommittee. Tracy Smith recommended a more thorough explanation be added.

MOTION 2: A motion was made from the Policy Subcommittee. A vote was taken. Motion passed.

Provost approved 10/21/20
Effective Fall 2021 unless otherwise noted.

Subcommittee Structure

The subcommittee drafted language in the AP&P Manual that formalizes the structure and responsibilities of the Joint Subcommittee (page 3 of the DRAFT Manual for 2020-2021).

MOTION 3: A motion was made from the Policy Subcommittee. A vote was taken. **Motion passed.**

5. UPDATES FROM THE GRADUATE SCHOOL

- A. Associate Dean Hoepfl thanked people who reviewed student and faculty awards. She also thanked individuals whose terms of service on GAPP end this summer: Will Canu, Susan Staub, Tracy Smith, David Shows, and Dalton Sizemore. She extended a special thanks to Susan Staub for chairing this year, to Victor Mansure for chairing the curriculum subcommittee and for serving as deputy chair of GAPP, and to Tracy Smith for chairing the policy subcommittee.
- B. Dean McKenzie explained that we know very little about how we will go forward in the fall. Many options being discussed. He did not think ASU will adopt the pass/fail grading option for the summer.
- C. Associate Dean Hoepfl reminded everyone of the upcoming program director's meeting.

6. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made (Mansure) and seconded (Canu) to adjourn the meeting.