MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE GRADUATE ACADEMIC POLICIES AND PROCEDURES COMMITTEE September 21, 2020

The Graduate AP&P Committee met on Monday, September 21, 2020 at 3:00 p.m. via Zoom.

Present: Laura Padgett, Marie Hoepfl, Debbie Race, Mike McKenzie, Brian Whitaker, Jason Miller, Dalton Sizemore, Denise de Ribert, Eric Berry, Fangxiao Liu, Gary McCullough, Jamie Yarborough, Jennifer McGee, Jerianne Taylor, Katherine Ledford, Mark Bradbury, Rajat Panwar, Ray Williams, Sandi Lane, Sara Konu, Susan Staub, Tanga Mohr, Terry McClannon, Victor Mansure

Excused:

Absent: Jonathon Stickford, Agnes Gambill, James Douthit, Sandra Vannoy

1. CALL TO ORDER

Dean McKenzie called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

Committee members introduced themselves.

Dean McKenzie turned the meeting over to Marie Hoepfl to proceed with approval of minutes and following items.

2. ANNOUNCEMENTS/FIOS

Associate Dean Hoepfl provided an overview of the structure and role of the GAPP committee and subcommittees. There are 14 committee members and the rest are representative members.

3. ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON AND DEPUTY CHAIRPERSON

MOTION 1: Associate Dean Hoepfl called for nominations for the position of GAPP committee chairperson. Susan Staub is nominated. No other nominations are made. Dr. Hoepfl asked for a motion to close the nominations. A motion is made (Victor Mansure) and seconded (Rajat Panwar). A vote is taken. MOTION PASSED.

MOTION 2: Associate Dean Hoepfl called for nominations for the position of GAPP committee deputy chairperson. Victor Mansure is nominated. No other nominations are made. Dr. Hoepfl asked for a motion to close the nominations. A motion is made (Ray Williams) and seconded (Brian Whitaker). A vote is taken. MOTION PASSED.

Associate Dean Hoepfl turned the meeting over to Susan Staub.

4. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

MOTION 3: A motion was made (Victor Mansure) and seconded (Ray Williams) to approve the minutes of the April 2, 2020 GAPP meeting. A vote was taken. MOTION PASSED.

5. NEW BUSINESS

A. Subcommittee membership assignments are made.

Curriculum Subcommittee: Victor Mansure (chair), Agnes Gambill, Katherine Ledford, Jennifer McGee, Jonathon Stickford, Brian Whitaker, Jamie Yarbrough, Eric Berry (Registrar Liaison), Marie Hoepfl (Graduate School Liaison), Laura Padgett (GAPP Coordinator)

Policy Subcommittee: Sandi Lane (chair), Fangxiao Liu, Rajat Panwar, Dalton Sizemore, Susan Staub, Jerianne Taylor, Ray Williams, Debbie Race (Registrar Liaison), Mike McKenzie (Graduate School Liaison)

6. DISCUSSION ITEMS

A. Dean McKenzie and Associate Dean Hoepfl provided updates from the Graduate School.

Associate Dean Hoepfl emphasized that this is a 14-member committee. The dates are already posted for the year and it is important for all members to attend so we have a quorum.

Associate Dean Hoepfl presented draft updates to the current Fellowships policies. She explained the four different types of fellowships offered by the Graduate School. Some programs have dropped the requirement for the standardized test scores for admissions, so the Graduate School is investigating dropping the requirement for Fellowship eligibility.

Ray Williams asked how we define eligibility for the Diversity Fellowship. He emphasized the importance of knowing this so that programs will know who is eligible. Hoepfl said that in the draft updates for Diversity Fellowships students will self-nominate and explain what they bring forward as a diversity fellow.

Hoepfl asked that members take this information back to their units and discuss and send her any comments. It will likely go to the Policy Subcommittee next month.

Laura Padgett provided a 3MT update. The event will be held via Zoom on October 30 from 1:00 – 3:00 pm. She asked that programs encourage students to register to

Provost approved 1/8/21 Effective Fall 2021 unless otherwise noted.

participate.

Associate Dean Hoepfl announced that a survey will go out to program directors to work on enrollment projections for next year.

Associate Dean Hoepfl briefly discussed the reorganization within the Graduate School. Our admissions team is now housed in University Enrollment Management.

7. ADJOURNMENT

Chairperson Staub asked for a motion to adjourn.

She announced that subcommittees would move to breakout rooms to meet, elect their chairpersons, and schedule meetings.